Giving up

We have officially passed the best day of the year. The day when there is nothing your mother can say about you eating dessert before your dinner as dessert is dinner (hah).

Yes Pancake day.

But now we must pick one of our many vices to give up in this desperate time (personally I think we all deserve a break this year as we seem to have given up reality – Yes the President of the United States is a cheeto with access to a twitter account.)

But I digress.

For me, I have decided to give up for Lent.

Yes just give up.

There is no point giving up chocolate – it’s one of my major food groups and without the knowledge of my 2 o’clock Crunchie bar I’m not sure I could get out of the bed in the morning.

There is no point in giving up alcohol – what else would I drink?

There is no point giving up the internet as it is an integral part of life as we know it. How would I know whose birthday it was? How will I know if Kelly and John are still in love without regular Facebook updates? How will I know who Donald Trump has beef with?

So for Lent, I will just give up. Just for 40 days.

Do you know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

